Inside an open-air pavilion
a handmade fireball shooter
It's called Tung Yai mangmum, another type of wind chimes
the remains of laterite walls
reclining Buddha statue
Standing Buddha statue
Wat Ku Kaew
Update : December 29, 2022
We are going to visit the remains of a 18th century temple (between 1177-1217). The temple is located in Ku Kaew district, Udon Thani province, just 1.1km away from Wat Pasi Kunaram.
This ancient temple is called "Ku" by local people, that consists of the remains of structures like stupas and temple walls. It's understood that the temple was built by the order of King Jayavarman VII (the king of the Khmer Empire), to be a religious shrine and also a place where injured or sick people were treated.
Dating back to the 19th century, between 1888-1892. Luang Pu Lai made a pilgrimage from Nakhon Si Thammarat province to Udon Thani province. When he walked past Wat Ku Kaew, he decided to stayed there.
During his stay, he heard that it didn't rain that caused villagers to suffer. Therefore, he persuaded the villagers to perform a ritual in order to ask for the deities' mercy.
During the ritual, the villagers also shot fireballs to worship the great Buddha statues of Udon Thani province, named Luang Pu Tue and Luang Pu Ton. After the ritual, it has rained since then, and the ritual has been passed down through generations.
The entire temple was last renovated between 15-10 June, 1990, but the renovation wasn't finished. Three attractions in the temple are the remains of laterite walls, a handmade fireball shooter and Tung hanging from the ceiling.
I'm sure you're wondering what Tung is. Tung or Tung Yai Mangmum means spider's web, that is another type of wind chimes, made of cotton yarn.
The purpose of hanging Tung on the ceiling isn't to decorate your homes, but to worship Buddha statues. And it is widely used in a religious ceremony in the northeastern Thailand.
วัดกู่แก้ว
วัดกู่แก้ว ตั้งอยู่ อ.กู่แก้ว ห่างจาก วัดป่าศรีคุณาราม แค่ 1.1 กม. ในอดีตโบราณสถานแห่งนี้ ถูกเรียกว่า "กู่" ได้มีการพบซากเจดีย์ อุโบสถ และแนวกำแพงวัด เข้าใจว่าสถานที่แห่งนี้ถูกสร้างเป็น "เทวสถานของขอม" เพื่อใช้เป็นที่ประกอบพิธีกรรมทางศาสนา และเป็นสถานพยาบาลคนเจ็บ โดยพระราชประสงค์ของพระเจ้าชัยวรมันที่ 7 (ในช่วง พ.ศ.1720-1760)
ย้อนไปช่วง พ.ศ.2431-2435 ปู่ลายได้ธุดงค์มาจากจังหวัดนครศรีธรรมราช และได้มาพักที่นี่ ช่วงนั้นฝนไม่ตก ทำให้ชาวบ้านได้รับความเดือดร้อน ทำนาไม่ได้
ดังนั้นปู่ลายจึงได้ชักชวนชาวบ้านให้ทำพิธีบวงสรวงพระคู่บ้านคู่เมือง คือ ปู่ตื้อ กับ ปู่ต้น และจุดบั้งไฟถวาย ในวันเพ็ญเดือนหก ตั้งแต่นั้นเป็นต้นมา ฝนก็ตกต้องตามฤดูกาล และประเพณีบุญบั้งไฟก็ได้สืบต่อมาจนถึงทุกวันนี้
วัดนี้ได้รับการบูรณะครั้งล่าสุด วันที่ 15-20 มิถุนายน พ.ศ.2533 (แต่ยังไม่เสร็จดี) บริเวณวัดเต็มไปด้วยต้นไม้อายุร้อยกว่าปี สิ่งที่น่าสนใจคือ กำแพงหินศิลาแลง และศาลาด้านข้างหินศิลาแลง
ภายในศาลาเราจะเห็นพระพุทธรูป บั้งไฟพญานาค และ "ธุงใยแมงมุม" ซึ่งชาวอีสานมักจะนำธุงมาแขวนหน้าพระประธาน และบางครั้งก็ถูกใช้ในพิธีกรรมทางศาสนา ดูสวยงามมากทีเดียว
ลืมบอกค่ะ ขณะนี้ (พ.ศ.2565) ทางวัดยังขาดปัจจัยจำนวนมากเพื่อมาสร้าง "สะพานพญานาคที่เชื่อมต่อไปยังพระวิหารดอกบัว" สำหรับใครที่อยากร่วมบุญ ก็ไปหยอดตู้ที่วัดนะคะ