Luang Pho Hin before restoration
A brief story of Luang Pho Hin
The ordination hall
The principal Buddha statue in the ordination hall
Wat Semathong
Update : Septemper 14, 2022
It was an abandoned temple, formerly known as "Wat Krua Yu", built in 1899. Interesting thing is the Buddha statue from the middle Ayutthaya period. The Buddha statue is called Luang Pho Hin, in the posture of receiving offerings from a monkey and an elephant.
LP Hin has been here for hundreds of years, that is considered the sacred Buddha statue of the temple. LP Hin is acutally a sandstone Buddha statue, but later the statue was restored by covering with stucco.
As time passed, the stucco covering the Buddha became powdery. Therefore, the Buddha was restored again on December 6, 2000. Nowadays, LP Hin is enshrined in a glass cabinet in a small building.
วัดเสมาทอง
วัดนี้เดิมเป็นวัดร้าง ชื่อ วัดขรัวอู่ สร้างขึ้นเป็นวัดตั้งแต่ พ.ศ.2442 เป็นวัดเล็กๆ ไม่ค่อยมีสิ่งปลูกสร้างอะไรมากนัก แต่สิ่งที่น่าสนใจภายในวัด คือ หลวงพ่อหินที่ประดิษฐานอยู่ในวิหารหลังเล็ก ข้างอุโบสถ
หลวงพ่อหิน เป็นพระพุทธรูปปางป่าเลไลย์ ศิลปะอยุธยาตอนกลาง เป็นพระพุทธรูปเก่าแก่อยู่คู่วัดมาเป็นร้อยๆ ปี องค์เดิมของหลวงพ่อหินเป็นเนื้อหินทรายและขนาดเท่าคนจริง ต่อมาได้มีการนำปูนมาฉาบที่องค์พระ หลังจากนั้นปูนที่ฉาบหมดอายุ ป่นหลุดออกมาเป็นผง จึงได้ทำการบูรณะองค์พระใหม่ ในวันที่ 6 ธันวาคม 2543
หลวงพ่อหินเป็นพระพุทธรูปที่ชาวบ้านให้ความเคารพมาก ดังนั้นถ้าเพื่อนๆ ผ่านมาเที่ยวแถว อ.ท่าช้าง ก็แวะมากราบขอพรท่านได้นะคะ