the remains of the central prang tower
mural paintings in a smaller prang behind the central prang
the remains of this building are called "Viharn"
the iconic Buddha head
Buddhas' heads were cut off after the 2nd fall of Ayutthaya
beautiful prang towers in the temple compound
Wat Mahathat
Update : June 20, 2023
It's another oldest temple in Ayutthaya, near Wat Ratchaburana. They both are in the area of the Ayutthaya Historical Park, separated by a small road.
This temple is famous worldwide for its sandstone Buddha head in the tree roots. Today, it's one of the most recognizable images of Thailand. Don't forget to add it to your list.
In the old days, the temple was used for many religious ceremonies, but after Wat Phra Sri Sanphet was built, many ceremonies were performed in the new temple instead.
It's believed that the temple was built by the 3rd king of the Ayutthaya kingdom (Khun Luang Phra Ngua) as a place to house the holy relics of the Buddha in 1374. But the construction completed in the reign of King Ramesuan.
During the reign of King Ramesuan, the king ordered the construction of the central prang tower where the holy relics were enshrined. The central prang tower is a combination of Thai and Khmer architectural styles, that collapsed twice - the first time in the early 17th century, and again, in the early 20th century.
After it collapsed in the early 17the century, It was restored and enlarged. But not long after that, the Ayutthaya kingdom was destroyed by the Burmese in 1767, many temples were set on fire and became abandoned for a long period of time. And it was one of those temples.
Later, the prang tower collapsed again, but this time it wasn't restored to its original condition. In 1956, the Fine Art Dept. explored the prang tower, many artifacts and holy relics were discovered. Now, All of them are on display at Chao Sam Phraya National museum.
Nowadays, you can see only the remains of the prang tower. The prang tower was built on the concept of simulating the mountain of god (Mount Meru) as the center of the universe.
วัดมหาธาตุ
ถือเป็นวัดเก่าแก่อีกวัดนึงในอยุธยา อยู่ใกล้กับ วัดราชบูรณะ โดยมีถนนคั่นกลาง โดยทั้งสองวัดตั้งอยู่ในบริเวณอุทยานประวัติศาสตร์พระนครศรีอยุธยา สิ่งที่สร้างชื่อเสียงให้กับวัดก็คือ เศียรพระพุทธรูปหินทราย ที่ถูกห่อหุ้มด้วยรากไม้ขนาดใหญ่
ในอดีตวัดนี้ใช้เป็นที่ประกอบพิธีทางพุทธศาสนาต่างๆ แต่หลังจากที่วัดพระศรีสรรเพชญ์ถูกสร้างขึ้นมา จึงได้มีการย้ายไปประกอบพิธีกรรมต่างๆ ที่วัดพระศรีสรรเพชญ์แทน
สันนิษฐานว่าวัดสร้างโดยสมเด็จพระบรมราชาธิราชที่ 1 หรือขุนหลวงพะงั่ว (กษัตริย์องค์ที่ 3 ของอยุธยา) ในปี พ.ศ. 1917 แต่ยังสร้างไม่เสร็จ ก็ทรงเสด็จสวรรคตเสียก่อน ต่อมาในสมัยสมเด็จพระราเมศวร ท่านให้สร้างพระปรางค์ประธาน และอัญเชิญพระบรมสารีริกธาตุมาบรรจุไว้ใต้ฐานปรางค์ประธานของวัด
ปรางค์ประธาน เคยถล่มลงมา 2 ครั้ง ครั้งแรกตรงกับสมัยสมเด็จพระเจ้าทรงธรรม แต่ได้รับการบูรณะในสมัยสมเด็จพระเจ้าปราสาททอง ในปี พ.ศ.2176 เดิมทีพระปรางค์สร้างด้วยศิลาแลง ความสูง 46 เมตร
ต่อมาในสมัยสมเด็จพระเจ้าบรมโกศ ตรงกับปี พ.ศ.2275 - 2301 จนถึงช่วงเสียกรุงศรีอยุธยาครั้งที่2 วัดมหาธาตุถูกทหารพม่าทำลาย จุดไฟเผา และวัดถูกปล่อยทิ้งร้างเป็นเวลานาน เศียรพระพุทธรูปถูกตัด
ในสมัย ร.5 ยอดพระปรางค์ได้ถล่มลงมาอีกครั้ง แต่ครั้งนี้ไม่ได้มีการบูรณะแต่อย่างใด ส่วนพระบรมสารีริกธาตุ ทางกรมศิลปากรได้เข้ามาสำรวจพระปรางค์ และย้ายพระบรมสารีริกธาตุไปเก็บรักษาที่พิพิธภัณฑ์ในปี พ.ศ.2499
ปรางค์ประธานของวัด ถูกสร้างตามคติความเชื่อทางพุทธศาสนา เป็นสัญลักษณ์ของเขาพระสุเมรุ ซึ่งเป็นศูนย์กลางของจักรวาล โดยรอบองค์ปรางค์ มีรูปราชสีห์ หมี หงส์ นกยูง กินนร ฯลฯ ซึ่งหมายถึงสัตว์ในป่าหิมพานต์อันเป็นตำนาน